Appointment Process

Thank you for your interest in serving on the OWASA Board of Directors. OWASA Board Members are appointed by the Chapel Hill Town Council (5 appointments), Carrboro Board of Aldermen (2 appointments) and the Orange County Commissioners (2 appointments).

OWASA Board Members serve at the pleasure of their appointing Board. Typically, Board Members serve two three-year terms that begin on July 1st and expire on June 30th.

Local governments request that volunteers complete applications for OWASA Board Member appointments. Please click on the jurisdiction below for information and an application to join the OWASA Board. To read OWASA's job description for an OWASA Board Member, please click here.