Board Of Directors

A nine-member Board of Directors governs OWASA. The Chapel Hill Town Council appoints five, the Carrboro Town Council appoints two and the Orange County Board of Commissioners appoints two Board Members. The OWASA Board adopts the annual budget; sets rates, fees and charges based on cost-of-service principles; approves bond issues to fund capital projects; makes policy decisions; and appoints the Executive Director, General Counsel and independent auditor. 

Links for additional information:

OWASA Board Members

To send an e-mail to all Board Members, the Executive Director, General Counsel and Clerk to the Board:

E-mails to and from OWASA are generally public records under State law (Chapter 132 of the General Statutes). Customer billing records, employment applications and certain other information are not public records.